News

Earth Charter Plus 15 Webinar: COP21 Paris and Climate Change Policy

Earth Charter +15 Webinar
Thursday, 5th November

From Rio ‘92 to COP21 Paris: Challenges and Opportunities
for Climate Change Politics and Policies

This webinar will be the fifth in a series of webinars in celebration of the 15th anniversary of the Earth Charter. We will be joined by former Dutch Development Cooperation Minister and Former Minster for Environment Jan Pronk, a hands-on leader in the Kyoto Protocol negotiations.

In the lead-up to the 21st Conference of Parties of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change, guest speaker Mr. Pronk will offer his perspectives on the state of climate change policy and insights on the conference in Paris at the end of November. He will also discuss past successes and stumbling blocks, the potential of the COP21, and the future of climate policy. Climate change is one of the most important global issues and efforts to address climate change illustrate the intention of the Earth Charter +15 slogan, “One Earth Community, One Common Destiny”.

This webinar will be broadcast from Earth Charter International’s learning center in Costa Rica and will welcome live guests from the community of the University for Peace.

Following Mr. Pronk’s presentation, there will be a question and answer period.

The webinar will take place on November 5th, 2015 at 18:15 UTC, 12:15 Costa Rica time, 1:15PM New York time, and 7:15PM Amsterdam time.

Join the webinar through the following link.

http://www.wiziq.com/online-class/3216704-earth-charter-presents-jan-pronk-talking-about-climate-change

If you want to participate, make sure your computer meets system requirements:

http://www.wiziq.com/info/technical-requirement.aspx

Guest speaker: Jan Pronk is former Minister of Housing, Spatial Planning and Environment (1998-2002) and former Minister for Development Co-operation (1989-1994) of The Netherlands. Pronk was also the Chairman 6th Conference of Parties UN Convention on Climate Change (2000-2001) and Special Envoy Secretary General United Nations for the World Summit on Sustainable Development (2001-2003). He is now a Special Advisor to the Earth Charter International.

Read the Earth Charter

We stand at a critical moment in Earth's history, a time when humanity must choose its future.
Download the Charter