Professor Yu Miaojie Elected Fellow of the IEA of the United Nations


Source: https://enweb.lnu.edu.cn/info/15050/3411.htm

Cover Photo Credit: Peking University

Recently, the International Economic Association (IEA), initiated by the Social Sciences Division of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), announced the list of “IEA Fellows” for the year 2023. Professor Yu Miaojie, President of Liaoning University was awarded the title of “IEA Fellow”. He became the fourth Chinese economist to be honored as an IEA Fellow, following Professor Qian Yingyi from Tsinghua University, Professor Wu Jinglian from the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, and Professor Justin Yifu Lin from Peking University. He is the only economist from China among the 12 globally selected “IEA Fellows” for 2023. President Yu has demonstrated special interest and vision in making Liaoning University play a central role in contributing to sustainability and ecological civilization. As such, ECI has been proudly collaborating with them.

The IEA was established in 1950, initiated by the Social Sciences Division of the UNESCO. Its founding mission is to promote the exchange and collaboration of global economists, as well as to explore theoretical and practical issues in the field of economics through academic conferences, research projects, and the dissemination of scholarly achievements. The IEA holds prestigious status in the global economics community, with over 60 national economic associations from around the world participating as formal members, and an additional 16 regional associations as associate members. It serves as an important international organization that gathers economists from developed and developing countries across various fields. Noteworthy economists such as Joseph Alois Schumpeter, Paul A. Samuelson, Kenneth Arrow, Amartya Sen, Robert M. Solow, Guillermo Calvo, and Joseph E. Stiglitz, among others, have served as presidents of the association. The current president is Dani Rodrik, the Ford Foundation Professor of International Political Economy at Harvard Kennedy School and a researcher at the National Bureau of Economic Research. The chair of the nominating committee for the current term is Kaushik Basu, the Chief Economist and Senior Vice President of the World Bank, and a Fellow of the Econometric Society.

The International Economic Association (IEA) established the ” Schumpeter-Haberler Distinguished Fellow Award” and “IEA Fellows” in 2018, which are the highest honors awarded to economists by the association. The 2023 IEA Fellows include 12 economists from various parts of the world, namely Prof. Yu Miaojie from Liaoning University, Marc Melitz from Harvard University’s Department of Economics, Gordon Hanson from Harvard Kennedy School, Sam Bowles from the Santa Fe Institute, Ekaterina Zhuravskaya from the Paris School of Economics, Danny Quah from the National University of Singapore, Adam Szeidl from Central European University in Vienna, Jayati Ghosh from Jawaharlal Nehru University in India, Ashwini Deshpande from Ayushman College in India, Sascha Becker from Monash University in Melbourne, Indermit Singh Gill from the World Bank, and Vera Songwe from the United Nations Office for Africa.

Professor Yu Miaojie being elected as an “IEA Fellow” is a testament to the high recognition of the Chinese economic community by the international economics community. This achievement also represents a significant milestone in the “Double First-Class” construction of Liaoning University. The honor significantly enhances the international influence of Chinese economics, playing an important role in showcasing the talent of Chinese scholars and conveying China’s academic voice to the world.

Introduction of the fellowship winner:

Professor Yu Miaojie of Han ethnicity, was born in 1976. He is a professor and PhD supervisor. He holds a PhD in Economics from the University of California, Davis. He is a deputy of the 14th National People’s Congress, a member of the Standing Committee of the Liaoning Provincial People’s Congress, and is currently serving as the Deputy Party Secretary and President of Liaoning University.

He is a Changjiang Scholar Distinguished Professor, a recipient of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, an Outstanding Young Scientist of Beijing, a Distinguished Professor at Peking University, an Advisory Committee Member on Economic and Trade Policies of the Ministry of Commerce, a Council Member of the “China-US Research Think Tank Alliance” of the Ministry of Finance, an Honorary Professor at Irkutsk National University in Russia, and an International Advisor at the Finance University under the Government of the Russian Federation. He is also the Vice President of the China World Economic Society, Vice President of the China Association for Econometrics, Vice Chairman of the China Industrial Economics Society, Vice President of the National Hong Kong and Macao Studies Association, Vice Chairman of the Liaoning Federation of Social Sciences, a winner of NG Teng Fong/ Sino Scholarship for Outstanding Youth, and one of the top 1% most-cited economists worldwide. He is also the only Chinese scholar to have received the “Royal Economic Society Prize” to date. He has been appointed as an expert advisor by the United Nations, the Asian Development Bank, the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Commerce, the Counselor’s Office of the State Council, and many local governments. He has been invited to the United Nations headquarters to report on China’s economic development. He enjoys a special government allowance from the State Council.

Professor Yu Miaojie’s research areas are international trade and Chinese economic development. He has published nearly 200 papers in top-tier domestic and international journals such as the Economic JournalReview of Economics & StatisticsJournal of International EconomicsJournal of Development EconomicsEconomic Research, and Management World. He has also authored 27 monographs, textbooks, and essays in Chinese, English, and German. He serves as the associate editor of the internationally renowned academic journal Review of International Economics and the executive editor of International Trade under the Ministry of Commerce. Professor Yu has been awarded the Excellent Achievement Award in Philosophy and Social Sciences by the Ministry of Education, the Wu Yuzhang Humanities and Social Sciences Research Award, the Zhang Peigang Development Economics Award, and the An Zi Jie International Trade Research Award (five times). His book Processing Trade and Firm Productivity has won the Liu Shibai Economics Award, the Hu Sheng Youth Academic Research Award, the National Trade Development Research Award, the China Young Economist Award, and the Achievement Award of Philosophy and Social Sciences in Liaoning Province.

As a representative of outstanding young and middle-aged faculty members, Professor Yu Miaojie was specially received by General Secretary Xi Jinping during Peking University’s 120th anniversary celebration. He also participated in a high-level symposium chaired by then Premier of the State Council, Li Keqiang, as an excellent representative of the National Distinguished Young Scholars Program on its 25th anniversary.

Link to the news: