Spain, Thailand

Laia Ongmali Chorto 


My name is Laia and I’m 18 years old. I am half Spanish half Thai. I lived all my life in a town near Barcelona, but I’ve also been to Thailand every year. So, I feel that I’ve grown up with both cultures, I feel from both places. 

Currently, I am living in the Netherlands, as I’m studying a degree called Global Project and Change Management implemented in Windesheim. It’s an international degree that teaches you ways and techniques how to change your world, broaden your perspective, and learn to tackle worldwide sustainability challenges. The SDGs are the heart of the program. 

My mother languages are Spanish and Catalan. In addition, I can also speak English and a little bit of Thai. Currently, I am learning Dutch. 

Some of my hobbies are; spending time in nature, cooking and baking, crafting, and spending time with my family. Moreover, I used to play basketball and practice aerial silks. 

From my point of view, sustainability is the future. Moreover, we need to start acting together (all the world) to improve and take care of the world. It is essential the cooperation between countries as we are all the same. It doesn’t matter where you are, in which religion you believe, what language you speak, etc. We are all humans and inhabitants of the world; therefore, we must take care of our planet together and take care of each other. 

To finish, I consider myself an open-minded person willing to know from different cultures and show them mine.